Viktor Troicki was so sure that his shot in the second set landed in bounds that he nearly quit his second-round match of the Italian Open against Ernests Gulbis on Wednesday. After losing the first set 6-1 and facing a break point in the first game of the second set, the Serbian hit a cross-court backhand that was ruled out by chair umpire Cedric Mourier. Troicki appealed and Mourier ran over to the spot to confirm his ruling, but that didn't satisfy the 27-year-old. Troicki hopped over the net, looked at the spot and proceeded to throw a tantrum. "No, come on. You know you're wrong! Come on, you know you're wrong!" he said. "You called it and now you don't want to overrule yourself. Come on there is no space. You know there is no space. Come on now I don't want to play like this." Troicki continued to argue with the Mourier and even dragged the cameraman to the spot, presumably to prove to the viewers that he was correct.
Flag This Item